Vista NG

Senate champions decentralization of the Police Force

Senate champions decentralization of the Police Force

As part of measures to reposition the nation’s security apparatus and ensure its efficiency, the Senate on Tuesday clamoured for the de-centralization of the Nigeria Police.

The upper legislative chamber also called on the 36 state Houses of Assembly to pass laws that would legalise community policing in their respective states.

The Senate, in resolving to adopt the recommendations of its Ad hoc Committee on Nigerian Security Challenges headed by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi at plenary, called for the expansion of the State Security Council and constitution of Area Command, Local Government and Ward Level Advisory Councils.

These were the high points of the recommendations of the Senate Ad hoc Committee on the urgent need to restructure, review and re-organise the current security architecture which was considered and approved in the Senate plenary Tuesday.

The committee set up on January 29, 2020, in its report approved by the Senate at plenary, made wide ranging recommendations which were also approved by the Senate.

The Senate, therefore, urged the executive to direct the Ministry of Police Affairs and the Inspector General of Police (IG) to “decentralize the police command structure with operational and budgetary powers” vested in the 11 zonal commands as follows; Kano/Jigawa/Kastina, Sokoto/Zamfara/Kebbi, Kaduna/Niger/FCT, Ekiti/Kwara/Kogi, Benue/Plateau/Nassarawa, Bauchi/Yobe/Borno and Adamawa/Taraba/Gombe

Other commands are Lagos/Ogun, Oyo/Osun/Ondo, Edo/Delta/Bayelsa, Rivers/Akwa-Ibom/Cross Rivers, Imo/Abia and Anambra/Enugu/Ebonyi.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *