Vista NG

BREAKING: Buhari sacks Buratai, other Service Chiefs

BREAKING: Buhari sacks Buratai, other Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has finally sacked the country’s Service Chiefs after the country witnessed a surge in insecurity over the past few months.

A press statement from the Senior Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adriana, said those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The statement also stated that the President congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *